The Juvenile Geriatric
The Juvenile Geriatric
Family Stories Radio Talkback
4
0:00
-23:28

Family Stories Radio Talkback

A new segment with Evenings on ABC Radio, Sydney
4
Behind the microphone (this is not the ABC, by the way. I got there so late I didn’t even think of a photo!)

When I told radio host Renee Krosch I was excited to be there in the ABC radio studio with her, I wasn’t joking. Family stories are perfect for talk-back radio where listeners call in with their own fantastic tales, discoveries and roadblocks! Renee and I spent thirty minutes talking about my family story Lost in Shanghai and then we invited listeners to call in and share their discoveries.

Brian’s story was particularly moving. His mother died last year. His stepdad died a decade ago. In sorting out his mother’s effects, he took a DNA test revealing that his stepfather was his biological father. You can hear the emotion in his voice when he speaks of what this discovery meant to him.

I will be joining Renee again on Evenings, ABC Radio Sydney for a regular monthly segment on different aspects of family story-telling and genealogy. Stay posted and please tell me your stories by joining my Members Chat!

Leave a comment

Share

4 Comments
The Juvenile Geriatric
The Juvenile Geriatric