The Juvenile Geriatric
Difficult Conversations
Dear Jane, I Haven't Seen My Son In 25 Years
15
0:00
-2:46

Dear Jane, I Haven't Seen My Son In 25 Years

Susan's story from 2019 is about grief, family estrangement and finding herself
15
Empty Letterboxes © Michael Cox

Hello friends,

As I prepare to launch a new show next Wednesday I sense that difficult conversations have been swirling around, urging me to give them oxygen. I am like a full sponge, ready to squeeze out my thoughts, stories, some humour and images. If I was this mindful all the time (which I should be) I would have garnered enough material to fill a hundred shows!

Question: how are you feeling this holiday season?

Share

This week, I am revisiting a December 2019 newsletter series called Dear Jane. One week, I’d put a question out on social media and I’d choose a reply from the thoughtful responses I received. This letter, which I’ve recorded, came from Susan (used with permission). I asked the question: how are you feeling this holiday season? Remember, this was right before Covid hit. Maybe I should seek out Susan again to see how she is doing?

I hope the story touches you as it did me.

Leave a comment

Have a wonderful week, friends.

Discussion about this podcast

The Juvenile Geriatric
Difficult Conversations
The modern art of conversation and a discussion about how we might get on a little better.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Jane Hutcheon